
2014 REPLAY QUIZ #12 
 

1. 3/5 @ B-10 with 0:29 remaining in the 4th Quarter, the score A-17, B-21, and Team A out of time outs.  Runner A24 is 
ruled out of bounds at the B-5 to bring up 1/G @ B-5 (0:21).  Replays show that, just prior to his foot touching the 
sideline, A24 was hit and fumbled, and in the immediate continuing action the ball went: 

 

 a. forward and into the end zone where A86 recovered. 
 

  Reverse to Touchdown.  Try @ B-3. 
 

 b. forward and struck the goal line pylon. 
 

  Reverse to Touchback.  B - 1/10 @ B-20. 
 

 c. backward and out of bounds at the B-10. 
 

  Reverse to backward fumble out of bounds.  4/5 @ B-10.  Start the clock on the Snap. 
 

 d. forward and out of bounds at the B-1. 
 

  Unless necessary to determine that the fumble did not touch the pylon first, should the game be stopped?  
The forward fumble out of bounds will bring the ball back to the same spot.  While it is true that -- 
properly officiated -- the clock would have started on the Ready, Team A will probably benefit more from 
the two-minute stoppage that will be necessary to arrive at that conclusion.  Food for thought. 

 

2. 2/15 @ B-25.  A14's pass appears to be intercepted by B47 at the B-10 (8:39) as the Line Judge shifts into reverse 
mechanics; however, after a few seconds, the Field Judge sounds his whistle and rules the pass incomplete.  B47 
had returned the apparent interception to the B-30 when the whistle blew (8:36).  Replays show that B47 was 
positioned with one foot on the sideline and one foot in the field of play, and that he then: 

  

 a. leaped from this position and touched the pass. 
 

  Confirm the ruling of an incomplete pass as B47 remains an out of bounds player when he touches the 
pass per Rule 2-27-15-a-2. 3/15 @ B-25.  Reset the clock to 8:39.  The ruling on the field need only be 
"reviewed" -- not reversed -- in order to adjust the clock (12-3-5-b). 

 

 b. touched his left foot inbounds before leaping and touching the pass. 
 

  Reverse to an interception because B47 re-established himself inbounds before becoming airborne and 
touching the pass.  Advance is disallowed per Rule 12-3-2-e-2.  B - 1/10 @ B-10.  Reset the clock to 8:39. 

 

3. 1/10 @ B-40.  A12's pass is complete to A15 at the B-20, and he runs down the far sideline for an apparent 
touchdown.  The Replay Official rewinds to ensure that A15 stayed inbounds during the run following the catch, then 
relays confirmation of the scoring play to the onfield officials through the Sideline Assistant.  Just prior to the snap for 
the Try, a replay from TV (which will also be available to the Replay Official) is flashed on the video board, clearly 
showing that A15 -- while running his pass route -- stepped on the sideline on his own at the B-30.  The Team B head 
coach then wishes to challenge the ruling on the field. 

 

Allow the challenge.  Reverse to Illegal Touching.  2/10 @ B-40.  Rule 12-5-1-b-4 states that, "A head coach 
may not challenge a ruling in which the game was stopped and a decision has already been made by the 
replay official."  2014 Replay Case Book Plays #163 and #164 use the words, "Once the play is shut down…".  
This play was neither "stopped" nor "shut down".  It was momentarily "paused".  For those who might argue 
the point, consider this:  Would the Replay Official's original confirmation be reported as a stoppage? 

 

4. 4/5 @ A-45.  After the 3rd down play, both teams substituted.  Twelve Team B players were in the formation for at 
least 20 seconds, but each of the downfield officials either miscounted or failed to count.  B35 finally realizes that 
there are too many men on the field, and he begins running toward the sideline. 

 

 a. Replays show that when the ball was snapped, B35 was still on the field, but his second step took him off.  A7's 
punt is fair caught by B28 at the B-15.  No flag was thrown because officials thought he was the eleventh player. 

 

  Reverse to Illegal Substitution since B35's next step did not take him off the field.  A - 1/10 @ 50.  See 
2014 Replay Case Book Play #160. 

 

 b. Replays show that when the ball was snapped, B35 was still on the field, but his next step took him off.  A7's punt 
is fair caught by B28 at the B-15.  No flag was thrown because officials thought he was the eleventh player. 

 

  Not reviewable since B35's next step took him off the field.  B - 1/10 @ B-15.  See 2014 Replay Case Book 
Play #160. 

 

 c. Prior to the snap, the Team B head coach requests and is granted a time out.  The Team A head coach then 
wishes to challenge on the basis that a foul should have been called for twelve players being in the formation. 

 

  Challenge not permitted.  Replay may only review "the number of players on the field for either team 
during a live ball" (12-3-5-a). 


