2015 REPLAY QUIZ #2

1/10 @ B-35. A12's pass is intercepted by B47 who -- in the winded Line Judge's view -- crossed A's goal line, and
then dropped the ball in end zone, for an apparent touchdown. Video clearly shows that B47 dropped the ball at the
A-1, and the ball then went:

a. into and out of bounds in the end zone.

Reverse to A - 1/10 @ A-20. This play is handled like any other fumble which goes into and out of bounds
in the opponent’s end zone, so the result of the play is a touchback. (See 2015 Replay Case #124.)

b. into the end zone where no player attempted to recover it.

Reverse to B - 1/G @ A-1. This play is handled differently from one which might invoke Rule 8-2-1-c. If
the Line Judge had ruled this a fumble, then when no player attempted to recover the ball, he would rule a
touchdown. (See AR-8-2-1-X.) But here, the Line Judge ruled touchdown immediately, and Replay will
not allow points to be put on the board in error. (See 2015 Replay Case #125.)

2/5 @ B-20. The score is A-13, B-14 with 0:20 remaining in the fourth quarter and Team A out of time outs. On a
draw, A8 advances the ball to the B-16 where he is ruled to have fumbled with 0:17 remaining on the clock. The ball
is muffed several times, then finally picked up by B31 who changes direction numerous times and advances across
A's goal line as time expires. Video clearly shows that A8's knee was on the ground before the ball came loose.

Game over. Properly officiated, it is reasonable to assume that Team A could have lined up on 3/1 @ B-16,
spiked the ball, and attempted the game-winning field goal. If the quarterback had been down beyond the
line-to-gain, Replay could have restored the clock to 0:17 and started on the Ready. If Team A had a time out
remaining, Replay could use that time out to put 0:17 back on the clock and start on the Snap. But here,
unless Replay has indisputable video evidence that there was time remaining when B31 crossed A's goal line
(in which case Team A would be entitled to that second or two, with the clock starting on the Ready), then
there is nothing that can be done. Moral of the story: REPLAY CAN'T FIX EVERYTHING!

3/G @ B-5. The score is A-17, B-21 with 0:07 remaining in the fourth quarter and Team A out of time outs. As A24
reaches the goal line, he begins to fall but extends the ball over B's goal line, and the Head Linesman signals
touchdown with 0:03 remaining on the clock. Video clearly shows that A24's knee was down with the ball at the B-1.

Reverse to A - 4/G @ B-1. Clock remains at 0:03 and starts on the Ready. Properly officiated, there is no way
that Team A could have run another play, but they now have a second chance to win the game. Replay can
restore time to the clock, but can not take time off the clock (except perhaps in the case of a malfunctioning
clock -- for example, instead of the clock going from 3:00 to 2:59, it goes to 3:59, and is not detected by on-
field officials). Once more with feeling: REPLAY CAN'T FIX EVERYTHING!

4/15 @ B-20. The score is A-28, B-28 with 0:05 remaining in the fourth quarter. Time expires during A3's game-
winning field goal attempt, but video clearly shows that 0:01 remained when the ball became dead by rule. A3's field
goal attempt was:

a. unsuccessful, and the teams prepare for overtime.

Reverse to B - 1/10 @ B-20 with 0:01 remaining. Time may only be restored if the next play is from
scrimmage, and the team that will next snap the ball is behind by eight or fewer points. Here, Team B will
put the ball in play from scrimmage, and the score is tied. (See 2015 Replay Case #145.) *

b. successful, and Team A begins to celebrate.

Game over. Celebration should continue without a page from Replay. Although the score is tied and
there might conceivably be 0:01 left for Team B to snap the ball after the kickoff, the next play is a free
kick -- not from scrimmage -- and so no timing adjustment is permitted. (See 2015 Replay Case #151.)

c. unsuccessful, but B79 is flagged for roughing the kicker.

Don't stop the game. Yes, after enforcement of the penalty, the next play will be from scrimmage...and
yes, the team that will next snap the ball (Team A) is behind by eight or fewer points (the score is tied),
but who cares whether they kick again from a stopped clock with 0:01 or as part of an untimed down?

* This is the official answer. Food for thought: If Team B is thankful to have dodged a bullet, and is ready
to go to overtime, should Replay take this action? If, after a three-minute delay to restore that second,
Team B takes a knee, then there was definitely no direct, competitive impact. What would you do?



