2015 REPLAY QUIZ #8

3/5 @ A-25. A41 carries to the A-31 where he is ruled out of bounds, bringing up A - 1/10 @ A-31. Video shows that
A41 fumbled prior to touching the sideline, and that -- in the immediate continuing action -- the ball:

a. was recovered by B67 at the A-33 and advanced to the A-18 where he stopped because of continued whistles.

Reverse to B - 1/10 @ A-33. Whenever a loose ball is ruled dead and a clear recovery occurs in the
immediate continuing action, the ball is awarded to the recovering team and any advance is nullified.
(See Rule 12-3-3-d-2 and 2015 Replay Case #76.)

b. was recovered by A89 at the A-37 and advanced to the B-47 where he stopped because of continued whistles.

Reverse to A - 1/10 @ A-37. Rule 12-3-3-d-2 simply says "recovering team", and thus applies equally to
Team A and Team B. The six-yard difference is significant enough to warrant a stoppage. Had the
recovery occurred at the A-33 as above, the Replay Official would likely "pass" on this.

c. went out of bounds at the A-29.

Reverse to A - 4/1 @ A-29. Since a backward fumble out of bounds belongs to the fumbling team at the
out-of-bounds spot (Rule 7-2-4-b-2) -- and the line-to-gain is involved (1/10 @ A-31 vs. 4/1 @ A-29) -- this
represents direct competitive impact.

d. went out of bounds at the A-41.

Don't stop the game. Since a forward fumble out of bounds belongs to the fumbling team at the spot of
the fumble (Rule 7-2-4-b-1), this represents no direct competitive impact (no difference at all!) since a
ruling of fumble would also resultin A - 1/10 @ A-31.

2/15 @ 50. B43 is flagged for holding eligible receiver A86 beyond the neutral zone. Another eligible receiver, A89,
runs his route wide and steps out of bounds, and when A7's pass to him arrives, the ruling on the field is that A89:

a. re-established inbounds and completed the catch at the B-25, where he was downed. Video shows that A89
leaped from out of bounds, never re-establishing inbounds before touching the ball.

Reverse to A - 1/10 @ B-40. The ruling on the field would have been A - 2/15 @ 50 via offsetting fouls
(A89's illegal touching and B43's holding), but actually there was an incomplete pass and B43's holding.

b. leaped from out of bounds, never re-establishing inbounds before touching the ball. Video shows that A89 re-
established inbounds and completed the catch at the B-25, where he was downed.

Reverse to A - 2/15 @ 50. The ruling on the field would have been A - 1/10 @ B-40 via an incomplete pass
and B43's holding, but actually there were offsetting fouls (A89's illegal touching and B43's holding).

1/10 @ A-25 after a touchback on a free kick following a touchdown and successful PAT. The score is A-24, B-28
with 0:07 remaining in the 4th quarter and no time outs remaining for either team. Team A runs a play which involves
many passes -- all ruled backward on the field -- and which results in an apparent game-winning touchdown with 0:00
on the clock. Video shows that a pass from A84 at the A-30 is forward and:

a. complete to A31 with 0:02 on the clock.

Reverse to an illegal forward pass. The clock would not have stopped for a complete illegal forward pass,
so no time is placed back on the clock. Since the statement of the penalty includes a loss of down, there
is no extension of the period (Rule 3-2-3-a-1-Exception), and the game is over with Team B winning 28-24.

b. incomplete, striking the ground with 0:02 on the clock.

Reverse to an illegal forward pass. The clock would have stopped for an incomplete illegal forward pass,
placing 0:02 back on the clock; however, an incomplete illegal forward pass qualifies for a 10-second
subtraction (Rule 3-4-4-a-3). Thus, the game is over with Team B winning 28-24.

F/IK @ A-35 following a touchdown and successful PAT. The score is A-28, B-24 with 0:07 remaining in the 4th
quarter and no time outs remaining for either team. Team B fields the kick at the B-10 and runs a play which involves
many passes -- all ruled backward on the field -- and which results in an apparent game-winning touchdown with 0:00
on the clock. Video shows that a pass from B84 at the B-30 is forward and:

a. complete to B31 with 0:02 on the clock.

Reverse to an illegal forward pass. The clock would not have stopped for a complete illegal forward pass,
so no time is placed back on the clock. Since the statement of the penalty (if not the actual penalty, since
after a change of possession) includes a loss of down, there is no extension of the period, and the game
is over with Team A winning 28-24. (See Play #6 from 2014 Play Interpretation Bulletin #1.)

b. incomplete, striking the ground with 0:02 on the clock.

Reverse to an illegal forward pass. The clock would have stopped for an incomplete illegal forward pass,
placing 0:02 back on the clock...and there is no 10-second subftraction for a foul which occurs after a
change of possession (Rule 3-4-4-a). Thus, itis B - 1/10 @ B-25 with 0:02 remaining.



