2016 REPLAY QUIZ #3

3/G @ B-5. The ruling on the field is that the ball in A24's possession broke the plane of B's goal for a touchdown,
prior to the ball coming loose. Replays show that A24 fumbled the ball at the B-1, and that in the immediate
continuing action the ball went into B's end zone where:

a.

it was clearly recovered by B17.

Reverse to B - 1/10 @ B-20 - Snap. When the ball is ruled dead when it fact it was loose -- and Replay can
establish clear recovery in the immediate continuing action -- the ball belongs to the recovering team at
the spot of the recovery. The ruling would be the same if the loose ball had hit the pylon or otherwise
gone out of bounds in the end zone. (See 2016 Replay Case #128.)

it was clearly recovered by A56.

If there is no question about the recovery, don't stop the game. The ruling on the field is a touchdown,
and the result of a Replay stoppage would be the same. The statisticians can sort out who gets credit for
the six points. Had this action (recovery by a teammate of the fumbler) occurred on 4th down, a stoppage
would definitely be needed as the result would be B - 1/10 @ B-1 - Snap.

there was a "scrum" and video provided no evidence of a clear recovery.

Reverse to A - 4/G @ B-1 - Ready. When a runner is ruled down in the field of play when in fact there was
a fumble -- and Replay cannot determine clear recovery -- the ruling on the field Stands. But, when a
touchdown is ruled when in fact the ball was fumbled short of the goal line -- and possession cannot be
determined -- the ball is returned to the spot of the fumble.

Try @ B-3. From the B-10, quarterback A8 throws a pass toward A19 at the B-5. The ruling on the field is that:

a.

A19 caught and then fumbled the ball, which was picked up by B42 at the B-7 and returned 93 yards for two
points. During the return, the Line Judge dropped his flag because he ran into a Team B coach "in the white".
Replays show that A19 never secured possession of the loose ball.

Reverse to an incomplete pass. There is no score, but the penalty for Team B's Unsportsmanlike
Conduct foul will still be enforced on the succeeding kickoff. Team A will kickoff from the 50. If Replay
had allowed the ruling to Stand, the score would have counted with the penalty for Team B's live ball foul,
treated as a dead ball foul, enforced on the kickoff.

the pass is incomplete. Replays show that A19 had firm control of the ball with both feet down, tucked the ball,
and turned toward the end zone before he was hit by B42 and fumbled. B42 picked up the ball at the B-7 and
was running toward Team A's goal line when the whistle was blown.

Don't stop the game. Had this occurred on a regular play from scrimmage, Replay would reverse this to a
catch - fumble - immediate recovery - no advance, and it would be B - 1/10 @ B-7 - Snap. But here, the Try
is over. Replay can't fix everything!

1/10 @ B-20. A11's pass is intercepted by B36 near B's goal line. The ruling on the field is that:

a.

B36 secured possession of the ball at the B-2, and his momentum carried him into the end zone where he was
downed, resulting in B - 1/10 @ B-2. Replays show that B36 did not have firm control of the ball until after the ball
crossed the plane of B's goal line.

Reverse to a touchback, B - 1/10 @ B-20 - Snap. *

B36 did not secure possession of the ball until after the ball crossed the plane of B's goal line, resulting in a
touchback, B - 1/10 @ B-20. Replays show that B36 had firm control of the ball with both feet down at the B-2,
and his momentum carried him into the end zone where he was downed.

Reverse to momentum, B - 1/10 @ B-2 - Snap. *

* Replay may review where the pass was intercepted relative to the goal line. (See 2016 Case Play #174.)
Here, there is a clear difference between the B-2 and the goal line, and Replay rightfully gets involved.
Should Replay be as conscientious at the B-1/2...or should the philosophy in the booth align with the
philosophy on the field?



