2016 REPLAY QUIZ #10

1/10 @ A-25. A7's pass to A89 is complete at the 50, and A89 heads for B's goal line down the left sideline. Closely
pursued by B36, A89 dives for the pylon and the Side Judge rules touchdown. There is no camera on the goal line,
but replays from a camera shooting down the left sideline show that -- after the dive -- A89:

a.

touched the ball to the pylon before any part of his body touched the ground inbounds or out of bounds.

Confirm the ruling on the field of a touchdown. When a ball in player possession touches the goal line
pylon, the ball is out of bounds beyond the goal line and results in a touchdown (AR-8-2-1-V-a).

has the ball in his extended left hand (outside the pylon) when his left foot touches the sideline at the B-2. No
other part of his body touched the ground inbounds or out of bounds prior to this time.

Reverse the ruling on the field. The ball in A89's possession may have broken the plane of the goal line
extended, but this plane extends beyond the pylon only for a player who touches the ground in the end
zone or a pylon (8-2-1-a). Forward progress is determined by the position of the ball as it crossed the
sideline. A-1/G @ B-1 is a good guess.

How would / should the Replay Official's thought process / work flow be changed if -- after the Side Judge's ruling in
#1 -- the Head Linesman ran down the sideline to mark A89's foot on the sideline at the:

a.

B-5? Replays show that A89's left foot did not touch the sideline, and that from this point he took one additional
step and dove for the pylon as above.

First, check to see if A89 stepped out of bounds at the B-5. If so, the action at the pylon is irrelevant. If
there is indisputable evidence that he did not step out of bounds, then the Replay Official may reverse
this part of the ruling provided he scores in the immediate continuing action. In this instance, no more
than one step and a dive is considered immediate continuing action. Reverse to touchdown in (a), but in
(b) the ruling of A - 1/G @ B-5 will Stand (2016 Replay Case #126).

B-10? Replays show that A89's left foot did not touch the sideline, and that from this point he took four additional
steps and dove for the pylon as above.

There is no need to check whether or not A89 stepped out of bounds. The ruling of A - 1/G @ B-10 will
Stand. More than one step and a dive is not considered immediate continuing action in this instance.
This was the decision reached at the 2012 National Instant Replay Clinic, and reflects the NFL theory that
if a runner does not step out of bounds and does not have to "continue running"” (defined by them as
"taking two or more steps’) to get into the end zone, this may be reversed to a touchdown.

3/15 @ B-45. A87 dives for A6's pass over the middle at the B-20. The pass is ruled incomplete, but B93 is flagged
for roughing the passer. Replays show that, as A87 landed, the nose of the ball touched the ground:

a.

and then moved in his hands.

Confirm the ruling on the field of an incomplete pass. This is not a catch because A87 lost control of the
ball as it touched the ground. After enforcement of the penalty for B93's foul, it will be A - 1/10 @ B-30.

but did not subsequently move in his hands..

Reverse the ruling on the field. This is a catch because A87 maintained control of the ball as it touched
the ground. After enforcement of the penalty for B93's foul, it will be A - 1/G @ B-10.

How would / should the Replay Official's thought process / work flow in #3 be changed if:

a.

in addition to B93's foul for roughing the passer, A76 was also flagged for being an ineligible receiver downfield?

Unless time is critical, there is no need to check on whether the pass was complete or incomplete. There
are offsetting fouls, and the down will be replayed (A - 3/15 @ B-45). If, however, clock status provides a
direct competitive impact on the game, the Replay Official may wish to consider reviewing the pass.

B93's foul was for targeting only (no roughing the passer) and A76 was also flagged for being an ineligible
receiver downfield?

First, check B93's potential targeting. If this ruling can be Confirmed or will Stand, then there is no need
to check whether the pass was complete or incomplete as offsetting fouls will result (A - 3/15 @ B-45). If
B93's targeting is reversed, then check the pass. If as in (a) the incomplete pass is Confirmed, Team B
will opt to decline the penalty for A76's foul (A - 4/15 @ B-45), but if as in (b) the pass is Reversed to
complete, Team B will accept the penalty (A - 3/20 @ 50).



