
2016 REPLAY QUIZ #13 
 

1. 4/10 @ A-20.  A7's punt strikes the ground at the B-40, then bounces close to A86 at the B-35 before being picked up 
by B19 at the B-30.  B19 returns the ball to the B-45 where he fumbles.  A41 picks up the loose ball at the 50 and 
returns it across B's goal line for a touchdown.  Replays show that the kick touched A86's foot at the B-35.  On this 
play, B32: 

 

 a. blocked A86 in the back at the B-35 during B19's return. 
  
  With the ruling on the field, the penalty for B32's foul would be declined by rule and Team A would score 

six points.  Once Replay reverses this, enforcement of this penalty is made possible.  Team A cannot 
keep the six points because declining the penalty would allow Team B to elect the spot of Illegal 
Touching, B - 1/10 @ B-35 - Snap.  With Team A's acceptance of the penalty, they will still lose the points, 
but it will be B - 1/10 @ B-25 - Snap (10-2-5-a-1). # 

 

 b. held A86 at the B-35 during A41's return. 
 

  With the ruling on the field, the penalty for B32's foul would be declined by rule and Team A would score 
six points.  Once Replay reverses this, the penalty is still declined by rule, but Team B can now elect the 
spot of Illegal Touching, B - 1/10 @ B-35 - Snap (10-2-5-a-1). #  

 

 c. blocked A41 below the waist at the B-35 during A41's return. 
 

  With the ruling on the field, Team A would score six points and the penalty for B32's foul would be 
enforced on the try or the succeeding kickoff, at the option of Team A (10-2-5-a-2).  Even if Replay 
reverses this, the result will be the same as there is an accepted penalty and Team B's privilege to elect 
the spot of Illegal Touching is canceled (6-3-2-b).  If the Team B coach challenges that Team A illegally 
touched the ball, he will win the challenge and keep his time out because A86 did illegally touch the 
ball…but it will make no difference in the final outcome. # 

 

  # Touching of a kick is always reviewable (12-3-4-a), but it doesn't end there.  In addition to the Illegal 
Touching spot, the Replay Official will no doubt have to recreate the spot of the foul in (a) and may need 
to provide assistance with the enforcement in (a), (b), and (c). 

 

2. 3/15 @ A-45.  A16's pass, intended for A87, falls incomplete.  Replays show that B92 tipped the pass at the A-44. 
B21 is flagged for: 

  

 a. interfering with A87 at the B-35, resulting in A - 1/10 @ B-40 - Snap. 
 

  Reverse to A - 4/15 @ A-45 - Snap.  Touching of a pass is always reviewable (12-3-2-b), and there can be 
no pass interference after the pass has been touched inbounds by an inbounds player or official (7-3-9-h) 

  
 b. holding A87 at the B-35, resulting in A - 1/10 @ B-45 - Snap. 
  

  Reverse to A - 3/5 @ A-45 - Snap.  Touching of a pass is always reviewable (12-3-2-b), and if a pass first 
touches anything in or behind the neutral zone, it is deemed by rule to have not crossed the neutral zone 
(2-19-3-a).  The penalty for holding an eligible pass receiver does not include an automatic first down 
unless the pass crosses the neutral zone (9-3-5). 

 

3. 2/5 @ B-30.  Replays show that A14's pass is complete to A86 at the: 
 

 a. B-31, and he is tackled inbounds at the B-15.  A81 if flagged for interfering with B19, resulting in A - 2/20 @ B-45 - 
Ready. 

 

  Reverse to A - 1/10 @ B-15 - Ready.  The location of a touched pass is implied in the replay review 
process (see 2016 Replay Case #57), and there can be no pass interference if the pass does not cross the 
neutral zone (7-3-9-d). 

 

 b. B-29, and he is tackled inbounds at the B-15.  A81 interferes with B19, but the Referee announces, "There is no 
foul for Pass Interference.  The pass did not cross the neutral zone."  The result is A - 1/10 @ B-15 - Ready. 

 

  Reverse to A - 2/20 @ B-45 - Ready.  The location of a touched pass is implied in the replay review 
process (see 2016 Replay Case #58), and the announcement allows the foul to be reinstated and its 
penalty enforced once Replay determines that the pass did cross the neutral zone. 


